Disability:In Conference banner asking "are you IN?"

Disability:In Conference Awards

13 Jul 2021

As the space of web accessibility grows there is a growing number of exceptional businesses and individuals who are dedicated to ensuring inclusivity. Accessible Web is excited to be taking part in the Disability:In Conference this week. Not only does this opportunity allow us to learn from industry experts, but we can also recognize those individuals helping to push inclusivity within their businesses. Disability:In recognized some of those individuals during their Inclusion and DEI Top-Scorers Awards. 

Disabiltiy:In kicked off the awards by congratulating companies who have scored 80 and 90% on their Disability Equality Index, DEI. The DEI provides companies with a roadmap that features actionable steps and strategies to ensure they can achieve disability inclusion and equity. With 329 companies participating in DEI, it is clear that company culture focusing on inclusion is growing in importance.

Only a few of the companies in the 80% tier are;

  • AMC
  • Lululemon
  • Pepsico
  • Pillsbury
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Snap Inc
  • State Farm
  • True Value

Companies in the 90% tier include;

  • ADP
  • Altice USA
  • Amazon
  • Exelon
  • Finra
  • Experian North America
  • Fox
  • Quest Diagnostics

Those who should be congratulated on achieving 100% include;

  • Adobe
  • Airbnb
  • American Airlines
  • Charles Schwab
  • Cigna
  • Choice Hotels
  • Colgate-Palmolive Company
  • Comcast NBC Universal
  • Delta Airlines
  • Dell Technologies
  • General Motors
  • Google
  • HP inc
  • Intel
  • Lenovo
  • Linkedin
  • Merck
  • Metlife
  • Microsoft
  • Northern Trust
  • Oracle Corporation
  • The Walt Disney Company

This list highlights only a few of those recognized today. As larger companies start to take inclusion and accessibility more seriously, we can hope for that to translate to web accessibility as well. 

Some of the individual awards given were;

  • 2021 Nextgen Alumni of the Year – Ike Tallerine
  • Marketplace Innovator of the Year for Products – Google
  • Marketplace Innovator of the Year Campaign – Comcast
  • 2021 Supplier Diversity Advocate of the Year – Kimberly Marcus
  • 2021 Affiliate of the Year – Disability:In Wisconsin
  • Supplier of the Year – Certify My Company
  • ERG/BRG of the Year – Intel
  • ERG/BRG Executive Sponsor Of The Year – Alleace Gibbs
  • John D Kemp Leadership Award – Cathy Bessant
  • Employer of the year – Salesforce

Each one of these individuals and companies should be congratulated on their hard work and dedication to inclusivity. Their dedication is part of how we will be able to reach our goal of web accessibility for all. Accessible Web is excited to take part in the rest of the conference and learn more about the state of accessibility in the professional world.